Football Favorites from www.heatherlikesfood.com

Source: www.heatherlikesfood.com

Heather’s food is amazing.  Check out her website for recipes.  Here’s a sample of what her website looks like…

It wasn’t until recently that my hubby got into football. I remember very well, the conversation we had not long after we got married (8 1/2 years ago), about how pleased both he and I were that he wasn’t into watching sports. We talked about how nice it was to spend weekends not thinking about when the next game was on or to not have to pay for cable.

But oh! How time changes all!

We still have kept our wits about not paying for cable –if only due to the fact that he can find most everything online– but our weekends during football season are definitely filled with everything we thought they never would be. But you know what? I don’t mind. I’ve even been known to get into a good game every now and again (how about that last Ravens @ Broncos!? Holy Crap!). But what I like even more is the excuse I now have to make good football-watching food. I’m a sucker for all things deep-fried, dip-able, and other-wise not-so-good for my derriere. What can I say?

With the Super Bowl right around the corner I thought I’d round-up a few of our favorite snacks from the archives. I’ll also be posting a few new football-friendly recipes over the next few weeks to get you ready for the big day, so stay tuned.

Queso Blanco Dip

First up is one of my all-time favorite dips- Queso Blanco. Creamy, cheesy, slightly spicy and perfect for nachos. This wins over many hearts every time I make it. (Click on the pictures to view recipes)

Queso Blanco Dip

Hot and Cheesy Bacon Dip

If you’ve never experienced this, I exhort you to do so immediately.

Star-Chips-and-Dip-2-Web

 Pizza Dip

Creamy and cheesy on the bottom smothered with your favorite pizza toppings. Perfect with warm, sliced bread!

pizza-dip-1-web

 Winger’s Sticky Fingers Copycat

These might be my favorite food of all time, I dunno. It’s something about the crispy chicken smothered in a sweet, sticky, and spicy sauce. Once they are dipped in ranch you’re in for it.

sitcky-fingers-1-web

 Saucy Slow-Cooker BBQ Sandwiches

Slow-cooked with peperoncinis, cola, and a myriad of other flavors, this beef has serious flavor. Topping them with onion rings is the absolute best way to eat them.

Saucy Crock Pot BBQ Beef Sandwiches

 Sweet Ham and Swiss Sliders

These babies are the single most popular recipe on HLF. They’re flavorful, crowd-pleasing, and can be assembled ahead of time and baked just before serving.

Sweet Ham and Swiss Sliders

Fancy Pants Street Vendor Hot Dogs

If you really want to impress your football-watching crew, fire up the grill and put some of these bad boys on.  Best. Hotdogs. Ever.

Fancy Pants Hot Dogs

Bite-Sized Boston Cream Pies

I can’t very well end this round-up without at least one sweet treat! These mini cakes are the perfect, bite-sized compliment to a very savory and heartburn inducing spread.

 Bite-sized Boston Cream Piies

Go! Fight! Win!

Leave a comment

Filed under Super Bowl Recipes, Websites

Leave a Reply

