Denver VS Seattle: Super Bowl Recipes for the Win

Source: http://www.tastebook.com/ – 

I haven’t always been a fan of football. Coming from a home in which the female population is dominant (even the family dog is a girl; my poor dad is greatly outnumbered), football never had a chance. It wasn’t until I started dating and spending time with a sports guy and SportsCenter was always on in the background that I gave football any notice at all.

With no choice but to watch the games, I came to realize — I actually liked the sport! I liked the athleticism of the players as they made unbelievable throws and catches. I liked the crunching sound of one man hitting another in an effort to block a pass. I liked the pace of the game, the roar of the crowd, the excitement of a touchdown. And best of all, I liked — no, loved — the food!

Just as much as the SuperBowl is a celebration of the game, the game is a celebration of food. All season long, viewers across the country pack up their coolers and break out the grill for tailgating galore. It is more than wings and burgers and steaks. People take pride in the food they prepare for game day. And when it comes time for the Big Game, fans pull out all the stops.

Bronco BratThough I am not a fan of either team (we’ll get ‘em next year, Giants) and I can’t decide which team to root for, I know my Super Bowl party guests will likely be favoring one team over another and the room will soon be divided. I decided to play up that rivalry by making a dish from each team’s home stadium. What better way to cheer on a team than by eating their food!? So I did a little research and here is what I found.

For the Denver Bronco fans, the Bronco Brat. This brat is simmered in beer before being cooked on the grill and loaded with grilled peppers, onions, and sauerkraut. Try your own with this Beer Simmered Bratwurst with Onions and Sauerkraut recipe.

BurgerFor the Seattle Seahawks fans, CenturyLink Field rolled out “The Beast” Burger in honor of their running back Marshawn Lynch. A burger piled high with two beef patties, two pieces of bacon, cheddar cheese, a few slices of ham, onion rings, lettuce, tomato, and red onion with a side of fries, and Marshawn’s favorite, a bag of skittles. Make your own version with this Jalapeno Cheeseburger with Bacon and Grilled Onions recipe and put a bowl of Skittles on the table.

Football BrowniesFor those who don’t care which team wins and are more interested in the commercials than the game, here are some Football Brownies to get you in the spirit!

Leave a comment

Filed under Super Bowl Recipes

Leave a Reply

